Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Blocks (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/blocks-t8963.html)

quilterj 07-11-2008 02:43 PM

I am doing my first bom. Actually the first time doing blocks. I was wondering if you are to backstitch on the blocks. Or does it even matter?

Jeanette

Tigerbaby1981 07-11-2008 02:46 PM

I was told it didnt matter as long as another seam was going to cross but Im a newbie so we will wait til someone more experinced answers :) I was thinking about this again yesterday good question

bj 07-11-2008 02:59 PM

I hardly ever backstitch, but I think it is just personal preference. Sometimes backstitching makes the seam a little bulky if you aren't right on the money with both lines of stitching. If you'll have intersecting seams, they anchor each other.

mgshaw 07-11-2008 03:29 PM

About the only time I backstitch is when I am sewing the rows together on a large quilt just because of the weight of the quilt putting stress on the ends when you are moving it around. But even then I dont always do it.As long as your are not manhandling it they should be fine without backstitching

jbsstrawberry 07-11-2008 09:11 PM

After doing seamstress work for soooo many years, it took me forever to not backstitch, kind of like getting use to a scant 1/4 inch instead of 5/8' seams!! Now I forget to backstitch when I make clothes!! Go figure LOL

patricej 07-12-2008 02:25 AM

sometimes i do ... sometimes i don't.

how's that for a clear, concise, helpful answer?

:lol:

seriously, though, i usually backstich at the join-points of y-seams. i will also backstitch if i'm not sewing all the way to the edge of the fabric.