Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Board basting question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/board-basting-question-t299713.html)

ruby2shoes 09-21-2018 08:47 PM

Board basting question

Today I am going to try Sharon Schambers board basting method...I've never done it before and I have 2 questions:
(1) I can't seem to get the backing to roll tightly onto the board. It rolls on okay but is a bit loose. Does it have to be tight?
(2)My top is approx 50" x 60" and is made up of batiks fpp blocks from a Judy Neimeyer pattern. I have watched the you tubes and am comfortable with the procedure but I have found that my top just won't roll squarely and tightly onto my board. I suspect, well I know, it is because some of my blocks may be a bit out of square. Now is this going to be a problem for me? I'm sorta thinking that as I am unrolling it and baste stitching it can I smooth the odd bit out as I go....is this viable or am I asking for trouble?

slicksister 09-21-2018 09:42 PM

This method is very forgiving. Yes you will be able to smooth things out as you go. It's not imperative that the top or backing roll tightly. I have stopped using boards as they were heavy and harder for me to store. I now use pool noodles. You can duct tape them together. So much lighter and easier! Plus I glue baste so that makes it even better.

nativetexan 09-22-2018 07:26 AM