Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Bow Tuck Question? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/bow-tuck-question-t72010.html)

cindle 10-24-2010 09:51 AM

I've bought all the fabric and pellon to make my first bow tuck but am just wondering if these purse are slouchy when done or after being used for a while or are they stiffer? I was just wondering because by accident I bought some interfacing and was wondering if it would be ok and make a stiffer bag if I used both the interfacing and the pellon? Also never having put a zipper in anything would this be hard to do and what length zipper would you need? Sorry for so many questions I'm new to sewing things like this and to be honest I'm kinda scared :shock:

np3 10-24-2010 10:17 AM

The stiffness is determined by the type of interfacing/Pellon you use in it. No restrictions, it is personal preference. I like them very stiff. There is a tute on here that you can search for that shows how to put in the zipper. You can search for it at the top of the page.

Dingle 10-24-2010 10:27 AM

The ones I make I like them a little stiffer. What I do is buy the heavy pellon from Wal-Mart (they don't carry the one that the pattern calls for) I use the heavy pellon just on the outside part of the bag. I use the thinner pellon for everything else. I had to get that at Joanns. I think it makes it just a little more firmer.

HTH

Kitsie 10-24-2010 10:39 AM

Originally Posted by cindle