Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Changing Fabric/Fabric Color After Quilt is Complete (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/changing-fabric-fabric-color-after-quilt-complete-t194005.html)

marie926 07-08-2012 01:52 PM

Changing Fabric/Fabric Color After Quilt is Complete

1 Attachment(s)
Hello,

I am a novice quilter and new to this forum. My boyfriends mother, Sharon, makes beautiful quilts, and so me and my boyfriend asked Sharon to make one for us to give to my sister and her soon-to-be husband as a wedding gift. We will pay her for costs as well as her time that she put into making it.

It has been very difficult finding the right color pattern, especially since I live 1.5 hrs away from Sharon so our communication has been via texts. We finally decided on the color scheme, but now that the quilt is coming together, the colors look very different from the pictures, and I know my picky sister will not like it at all. I have no idea what to do because Sharon is such a sweet woman and potentially my mother-in-law.

Is there anything that can be done either by me or a professional quilter to remedy the situation? Is is possible to somehow modify the color of one patch, so the colors fit better? Any embellishments that you would recommend?

This is a picture of the quilt so far, Sharon wants to use the same dark green fabric shown as the border. This picture looks closer to the actual colors than the ones I received from June via texts.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]347538[/ATTACH]

Any ideas would be appreciated! Thanks!

bearisgray 07-08-2012 02:03 PM

This is the nightmare that every quilt maker fears!!!

suern3 07-08-2012 02:07 PM