Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Curiosity Question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/curiosity-question-t199578.html)

MonaMcC 09-04-2012 02:35 PM

Curiosity Question

I love order, balance and color appeal. When I decorate I normally decorate symmetrically, every once in a while I'll go asymmetrical (sp?). When It comes to quilting, I was drawn to the perfect piecing, lines, angles and shapes of quilts. What do ya'll think of "Wonky" quilting? I think that's what they're called where a bunch of leftovers are laid out to fill up a certain size. It makes me think somebody just threw a bunch of leftovers together and sewed it all up instead of learning how to really piece them together. I don't want to step on anyone's toes here so, nicely please, educate me if it's really artistic or not. I am NO professional but just am in awe when I see a very intricately pieced quilt. THAT to me is real talent!

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 09-04-2012 02:48 PM

I am not generally huge fan of "wonky", however, I'm currently thinking of setting my Dr. Seuss Lorax panel blocks wonky (wonkily ?). For Seuss it makes sense.

I think with all things quilty it's each to their own. I'm just now learning to embrace really scrappy.

Tashana 09-04-2012 03:11 PM