Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Cutting individual HST and QST? Tips and tricks? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/cutting-individual-hst-qst-tips-tricks-t234237.html)

CrazyQuiltBunny 11-07-2013 01:44 PM

Cutting individual HST and QST? Tips and tricks?

Recently I've been cutting squares out of many stash fabrics using Omnigrid square rulers of various sizes. I'm a newbie and want to make some easy four patch tops.

Some of the scraps from that would make triangles so I bought a Fons & Porter triangle ruler. But after looking online I kept running into instructions saying that the bias side of the triangle might stretch during cutting and sewing. And how most people make them by sewing two squares together then cutting.

Is it impossible to use my new triangle ruler in the way I originally hoped?

Tartan 11-07-2013 01:50 PM

My favourite way to do 4 patches is the way Jenny Doan from Missouri Star Quilt co. does it in her new Jacob's Ladder video on youtube. A lot of the quick and easy ways work only with pieces of fabric and not scraps.

PaperPrincess 11-07-2013 02:07 PM

There are a zillion ways to make HST. Some have bias edges, some don't, some you cut before you sew, some after. The nice thing is that you can try different methods and then use the one(s) that work best for you and the particular project you are working on.
If you starch your fabric, then handle gently, you should not have a problem with the bias edges.

MadQuilter 11-07-2013 02:41 PM

I prefer the 2 square overlay method. I generally draw the sewing line on each side of the center line. My squares start oversized (finished size + 1") and then I cut them down. It is a bit more work but worth it for me. I do QSTs the same way. I believe I cut my squares finished size + 1 1/2 (or even a little bigger).