Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Denyse Schmidt patterns (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/denyse-schmidt-patterns-t277535.html)

CindyHa 04-08-2016 06:36 AM

Denyse Schmidt patterns

Hi. I am new to quilting and am really drawn to Denyse Schmidt's "A Different Stripe" pattern.

http://www.dsquilts.com/fabric_and_p...asp?PageID=361

I recently purchased another artist's quilting pattern, and was really disappointed with the vagueness of the instructions, so I'm cautious.

Does anyone have experience with her patterns? Are the instructions detailed and walk you through all the steps in piecing, etc?

Thanks, Cindy

GingerK 04-08-2016 06:51 AM

I have not used her patterns but looking at the photo of the quilt you are interested in making, it looks quite straight forward. The stripes are cut at varying widths and some are cut a little 'wonky' to give more interest. Then the blocks would be squared up and sashing would be added. Even her description states that this pattern lets you use your own creativity when constructing the blocks.

Before paying $15+ I think I would try to make a sample block of my own, using scraps.

joe'smom 04-08-2016 07:41 AM

Someone new to quilting might not know enough to try making a sample block without instructions.

I have one Denyse Schmidt pattern that I haven't used yet. Opening it up, I see it's in the form of a little book, and it seems to be very thorough. Can you give an example of the sort of thing you found vague in the other pattern?

QuiltnNan 04-08-2016 08:31 AM

Welcome from western NY and happy quilting :)

ManiacQuilter2 04-08-2016 08:31 AM

I am not familiar with her patterns but when I was beginning, I did some EB Quilt in a Day patterns. She is excellent with her instructions. Welcome to the board! :)

Ann912 04-08-2016 08:57 AM

Welcome from Alabama. Sorry, I can't help with the pattern.