Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Design help, please (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/design-help-please-t290769.html)

bkay 08-27-2017 03:33 PM

Design help, please

3 Attachment(s)
I'm a beginning quilter. I was pretty happy with my first two quilts. One was a d9P lap quilt, and the second was similar. By the time I finished the top on my third quilt (a queen size), I no longer liked it. I really liked the fabric, but it was just too blue. I didn't have it quilted. On the fourth, I never figured out a border I liked, so it joined my 3rd on the UFO pile. I don't want this to become a habit.

I had some 4" I spy squares and a bunch of assorted scraps and decided to make "happy blocks". I had no real plan, but thought they would do fine in a random arrangement. Once I started playing with them, I began to question my original plan. I have about 100 of these blocks, not counting duplicates. I don't have a lot of all the colors, though. I have lots of Orange, Red, Yellow and Green in many hues and tints.

So do you like any of these arrangements or do you have another suggestion? I have more 4" squares and will probably make some more blocks.

First is the random arrangement which I tried last.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]579654[/ATTACH]

Then I tried strips of colors and wasn't happy with that (too much red and orange), but it looks better in the photo.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]579655[/ATTACH]

Then I tried eliminating some colors - I liked it better in person than in the photo - but that is a lot of red and orange.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]579656[/ATTACH]

toverly 08-27-2017 03:44 PM