Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Designing quilting pattern (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/designing-quilting-pattern-t53197.html)

aneternalpoet 07-06-2010 03:47 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I hope someone can help.. I was asked to create a wall hanging, using this photo, " Mario" that was a computer type character years ago. I was asked to make it poster size, but do not know what size to cut the squares ( or rectangles) to make it all fit the dimensions of a poster. Does anyone know how to do that, or have a quilt program that can determine sized blocks for such a project? I have added the photo , so hope it shows up for anyone to give me some ideas.. I have never done something like this before..

LaurieE 07-06-2010 04:03 PM

There is no standard poster size. 16" x 20" is a standard (large) picture frame size. You could always go larger. I would suggest you ask the client what size were they thinking of. Once you have the size, then you can determine the size of the squares and rectangles.

Then you would need to determine if you are going to put a border around it. That would add to the final size.

Based on your photo, it is 12 squares wide x 16 squares long. If you made each square 2" x 2", the size before a border would be 24" x 32" (calculation: 2" x the number of squares) without a border.

mom-6 07-06-2010 04:06 PM

A sheet of posterboard is 22" x 28".

Doing the 2" squares as mentioned above would come out only slightly larger.

ktbb 07-06-2010 04:20 PM

Originally Posted by LaurieE
Based on your photo, it is 12 squares wide x 16 squares long. If you made each square 2" x 2", the size before a border would be 24" x 32" (calculation: 2" x the number of squares) without a border.