Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Do You Prefer Hand or Machine Applique? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/do-you-prefer-hand-machine-applique-t223253.html)

pumpkinpatchquilter 06-08-2013 08:18 AM

Do You Prefer Hand or Machine Applique?

I have been quilting for about 8 years but I still struggle with applique. Do you prefer machine or by hand? I still am not sure which I prefer but for the moment it's by hand. If I have hundreds of small pieces am I better off just stitching by hand?

janedee 06-08-2013 08:28 AM

I love doing applique by hand, and I think that doing small pieces by hand gives much more flexibility, less likely to miss any of the piece, but thats just me, as I am not very good on the sewing machine unless its a straight line lol!!

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 06-08-2013 08:31 AM

I love the look of doing it by hand and the speed of doing it by machine.

MartiMorga 06-08-2013 08:31 AM

I haven't done any by hand, just machine. I love to do hand embroidery and cross stitch, so I bet I would like to do hand applique. And seeing some of the beautiful appliqued quilts, I can't imagine doing them on machine. I aspire to one day take time and do one.

Scissor Queen 06-08-2013 08:32 AM