Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Do you take a hiatus from sewing at holiday time? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/do-you-take-hiatus-sewing-holiday-time-t257116.html)

adamae 11-20-2014 10:40 PM

Do you take a hiatus from sewing at holiday time?

Do you continue sewing, quilting, through the holiday season? Seems like there is so much to do cooking, decorating, cleaning and shopping this time of year that I don't get to sew as much as I would like. How about you?

cathylynn 11-20-2014 10:42 PM

I keep quilting. I work in retail so quilting is my much needed, calming therapy. Couldn't survive the holidays without it!

NJ Quilter 11-21-2014 02:00 AM

Depends on the projects I have going on and their deadlines. Usually I need to keep sewing during the other craziness. It's also therapy for the craziness.

ckcowl 11-21-2014 04:02 AM

I sew every moment I can, year around and am particularly busy sewing through the holidays. Hubby & I both have fairly large families, there are always more projects to get done than there is time for. This years its lots of placemats and table runners.

davis2se 11-21-2014 04:55 AM

It just depends one how I am feeling, what else I have planned, if we are traveling, etc, from year to year. Last year I sewed like a maniac right up until we left for Atlanta to spend Christmas with our daughter, and started back up again as soon as we got home - the New Year. This year, not so much. Wish I was more in the mood, but having some hand surgery in a few days, and then again the week before Christmas, so I've talked myself out of starting anything that will just have to sit and wait for me to heal! Hopefully after the surgeries I will get back into the swing.

PaperPrincess 11-21-2014 05:01 AM

I sew a lot less in the Summer. Way too much to do then. I just sew around the holiday activities.

Vistacruise 11-21-2014 05:05 AM