Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   DSM vs longarm (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/dsm-vs-longarm-t313217.html)

Synnove 11-22-2020 04:42 PM

DSM vs longarm

Is it reasonable to expect FMQ on a domestic machine to look as good as quilting on a longarm? Over the years that I have been quilting on my 1008 Bernina mechanical I have never been able to get the stitches to look as good as I expected. I don't mean the pattern -- I mean the quality of each individual stitch. They're "good enough" and yet, even as my skills grow, they just aren't the quality that I would like to see. Washing the quilt after it's finished does seem to help a bit, as the fabric and batting shrink a bit around the stitches. Still . . . am I being unrealistic?

Tartan 11-22-2020 06:31 PM

I studied long arm quilts at a show a while back. Unless they were computer quilted, the stitches were not perfectly spaced. It freed me from expecting my FMQing to be “ perfect” on my sewing machine.

NZquilter 11-22-2020 06:31 PM

I don't think a long arm magically makes quilting stitches perfect. I don't own a long arm, but I know there are simple long arms that are only manually operated, with no stitch regulator, and than there are the nice long arms with the stitch regulator. I might be wrong, I would imagine that would make a huge difference.

I only quilt on my vintage domestic sewing machines. I try my best to make my stitches perfect, but I don't hold my own standards up to a computerized long arm. That is unrealistic to me.

oksewglad 11-22-2020 07:19 PM

When I quilted on my Bernina computerized DSM my stitches were as uneven as well. Now I have a simple LA with a stitch regulator and that has made all the difference. I still have to guide the machine, but yes stitches are much more even. To compare the 2 processes I find it is easier for me to guide the machine than to guide the fabric.