Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Fabric quality at chain stores (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/fabric-quality-chain-stores-t232911.html)

romille 10-21-2013 09:36 AM

Fabric quality at chain stores

I am still new to the sewing world. The fabric at places like JoAnn always seemed a little sub par to me, but I figured I was just being biased or something. Recently though I have heard a couple comments that make me think their fabric might really be of lower quality.

The first was my mother, who doesn't sew, but has a friend that quilts. I was curious and asked where her friend shopped. She said her friend doesn't shop at the chain stores because of fabric quality, but wasn't sure on the reasoning.

The second was a comment on a fabric swap forum thread that said some swaps don't allow fabric from chains like JoAnn, Wal-Mart, or Hobby Lobby. I wasn't sure if that is due to quality or just to avoid duplicates in the swap.

What are your opinions on chain store fabric? Why do some avoid it?

clsurz 10-21-2013 09:39 AM

Sub-par..... I won't buy from such stores unless I actually see a fabric that I can put my hand behind it and not see through the fabric.

justflyingin 10-21-2013 09:45 AM

It's very much up for debate. Your local quilt shop should carry fabric of the highest quality. Chain stores have a mid level or even carry some poor quality fabrics. What you can afford or use is up to you. I have seen some higher end fabrics at Walmart, but they are about $8/yard instead of the normal $4 and $5 and $6/yard stuff that is normal.

Avoid really cheapy stuff--coarse, poor quality fabric isn't good--no matter where you find it.

That said, I've made plenty of things from Walmart Springs Industries/Concord VIP fabrics fabric and it is fine. It is holding up well over many, many years.

greensleeves 10-21-2013 09:50 AM