Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   First time using Press & Seal wrap to draw on quilting designs--suggestions? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/first-time-using-press-seal-wrap-draw-quilting-designs-suggestions-t284741.html)

quiltingshorttimer 12-26-2016 07:32 PM

First time using Press & Seal wrap to draw on quilting designs--suggestions?

I have a quilt on the frame that I want to do "ghost" quilting of the embroidery flowers and think that I can do that best by drawing the design on Press & Seal and stitching though it for this detail work. But I've never done that before and would appreciate any suggestions from those of you that have used Press & Seal to mark your quilting design before. This will be done on my long arm with a SoFine #50 thread.

Thanks!

P.S. the embroidery work is on a very light tan muslin, with an iron on backing on it. the embroidery has been highlighted with Inktense pencils.

PaperPrincess 12-26-2016 08:10 PM

I would mark the minimum amount of the motif you feel comfortable with, quilt that, remove the wrap and then go back and add the details. Press and seal will come off, but it's really difficult to remove if trapped in tiny areas.

Gay 12-27-2016 12:31 AM

I tried this, using a fine felt pen to draw the design on the Press & Seal. After sewing I found it wasn't easy to get some of the product off and still ended up with black marks on most of the fabric. Am not sure if it was the Press& Seal left behind or the white thread picked up the ink. I doubt if I will do that again (not with felt pen) as it was more difficult to remove than paper, at least paper will soften and wash out.

Cindy60545 12-27-2016 03:41 AM