Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   First try at FMQ (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/first-try-fmq-t219553.html)

patti p 04-19-2013 06:27 PM

First try at FMQ

Hi there I just did a Jelly roll race in some pastels and thought I would give a go on some free motion this is my first time, I have practiced on some fat quarters and all seemed to go fine , so when I tried it on this quilt top I am getting a lot of bird nests on the back, where I have to stop and cut it out and re thread,bobbin, top all of it. I have tried to change the needle, I have the same thread in the top and bottom, I have cleaned the machine (I have a singer h74) fairly new, I manage to go about a foot or so and it will mess up AGAIN! I am getting frustrated, I switched from a plastic bobbin to metal, no change. I just ordered some bobbin washers, I hope that will do the trick? Does ANYONE have any other advice I could try.? It sews like a dream while piecing. It only does this while FMQ,

quiltingcandy 04-19-2013 06:31 PM

Do you bring the bobbin thread up to the top of the quilt? When exactly do the bird nest happen?

Nammie to 7 04-19-2013 06:51 PM

What size needle are you using? I don't have issues if I use a top stitch needle (as recommended by my dealer)

busy fingers 04-19-2013 06:55 PM

I sounds to me like the problem is not with the machine or yourself - as your practice pieces were good - do you have the weight of the quilt supported. I had the same problem - practice pieces goods and when I tried on the "real deal" it was a disaster.

Make sure that you have the whole quilt supported as the weight is dragging it down and causing the problem.

Good luck with it.

patti p 04-19-2013 07:05 PM

Originally Posted by quiltingcandy (Post 6013792)
Do you bring the bobbin thread up to the top of the quilt? When exactly do the bird nest happen?