Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Flannel (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/flannel-t82396.html)

CutNup 12-12-2010 03:15 PM

Ok, don't forget I'm new to quilting and prone to asking questions with obvious answers,sooo, if I piece a quilt top with 8inch flannel squares,could I use a flannel backing? And would I need to use batting? Also, how would I bind it? I have made a rag quilt with 3 layers of flannel. I prewashed all fabric. Thanks for any help!!
Barb(-_-)

Holice 12-12-2010 03:16 PM

you say you have made a rag quilt. Then the batting and backing should already be there. Edges are usually clipped so doent require binding. Do I understand your question correctly

CutNup 12-12-2010 03:22 PM

Originally Posted by Holice
you say you have made a rag quilt. Then the batting and backing should already be there. Edges are usually clipped so doent require binding. Do I understand your question correctly

The rag quilt is another quilt,just wanted to say I have worked with flannel a little bit. I want to make a regular pieced quilt out of flannel.

amma 12-12-2010 03:22 PM

You wouldn't have to use a batting, if you think the 2 layers will be warm enough. Some will just use a piece of flannel for the batting too, if they think that traditional batting may make it to warm :D:D:D

CutNup 12-12-2010 03:24 PM

Originally Posted by amma
You wouldn't have to use a batting, if you think the 2 layers will be warm enough. Some will just use a piece of flannel for the batting too, if they think that traditional batting may make it to warm :D:D:D

How would I bind it?

Japonica 12-12-2010 03:26 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Hi!
I also am new. Just made a rag quilt for DGD and it turned out cute. I first cut out all my blocks. I made them 6 inches square.