Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   FM quilting help! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/fm-quilting-help-t207604.html)

rosiewell 12-03-2012 04:54 PM

FM quilting help!

I am new at FM machine quilting having quilted by hand for the last 25 years. I am quilting a border and I am using blue thread for the top and white for the bobbin so that my horrible quilting doesn't jump up. Problem is that try as I may to fix the tensions a tiny blue thread shows up on the reverse on every stitch, is this normal? Please advise before I take it apart one more time. Thanks for the help!

patski 12-03-2012 05:04 PM

I think that is the bobbin tension. I have a tiny screw on my bobbin holder and can adjust it just a hair and it fixes that problem.

gail-r 12-03-2012 05:06 PM

Sounds like your top tension needs to be just a smidge tighter, some machines won't let you adjust in tiny amounts. Or you can try changing thread colors so they are the same top and bottom, sometimes a light gray will work good on blue and white fabric. Good luck, but remember that FMQ is very addictive and it doesn't have to be perfect. I suggest that you make some small quilt sandwiches to practice on and start out by writting your name, over and over, A lot of FMQ is muscle memory. When I want to learn a new design I draw it on paper several times and then practice on sample quilt sandwiches. My favorite part of quilting is the free motion quilting. Hugs

JulieR 12-03-2012 05:33 PM

Yes, it's a tension issue. But if it's very slight and only a little noticeable, once you wash (and dry) it you'll never be able to tell. :)

hopetoquilt 12-03-2012 05:54 PM

Originally Posted by JulieR (Post 5696753)
Yes, it's a tension issue. But if it's very slight and only a little noticeable, once you wash (and dry) it you'll never be able to tell. :)

That has been my experience too.

mighty 12-03-2012 07:52 PM