Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Free motion quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/free-motion-quilting-t16685.html)

Rox17 02-18-2009 07:06 PM

I have a question for the free motion quilters out there. When you do free motion quilting, like stippling for example, do you just do the whole quilt top or do you do a block at a time? Like, fill one block with stippling, then move to the next block? Or just go over the whole quilt at once? I'm just getting into machine quilting but so far all I have done is straight line quilting. I've been practicing and I think I'm ready to try my hand at stippling on a small quilt. Any tips to make it easier?

jacquemoe 02-18-2009 07:12 PM

Have you done any practicing with stippling? I would take one section at a time and end at a place that will lead you into the next section. Hope that helps a little.

Maride 02-18-2009 08:09 PM

If I am doing a small quilt I start close to a corner, and tend to start in a diagonal direction. This is so when you look at it you can not tell the line I followed.

If I am doing a big quilt I start as close to the center as I can (tackle the hardest part first and now you know it can not get any worse than that). I follow a kind of random motion, making sure that I fill all areas as I go to prevent bunching. I try not to concentrate filling one block before moving to the next, because it doesnt look "free" to me.

My opinion only, and I hope it wasn't clear as mud.

The best thing you can do is to practice as much as you can. One thing I found useful was to practice in a whole cloth, preferably of a solid color, so you can see clearly what you did. When I started doing it on quilts I did it mainly on printed, especially flowers, because when I made a mistake it wouldn't show.

Maria

Bevsie 02-18-2009 09:58 PM

Hi,