Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Free motion quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/free-motion-quilting-t219642.html)

DOTTYMO 04-21-2013 08:56 AM

Free motion quilting

This weekend I have read two books on this topic. One says ignore tension setting on the machine as all the work is done with control of foot pedal and hands also feed dos can stay up. It also says start with a slow speed and build up
Now the other book told me to drop feed dogs and adjust tension especially if you get eyelashes and go for it.
I thought I could FMQ but this new machine is a viking HjCLASS 100q and I have never used it before for quilting .it needs some adjustment I'm sure as I am very good at left side eyelashes at slow speed. At top speed everything is fine but the sewing machine motor doesn't sound fine. I is my light weight class machine and I wanted to take it to class next week and FMQ so I need to sort out.

Tartan 04-21-2013 10:01 AM

I don't have a Brother machine but I do drop my feed dogs on my machine and use a darning foot for FMQing. I also find my Machingers gloves very handy for being able to move the sandwich better. Can you find out which way the class instructor will be teaching? I know Leah Day FMQ with the feed dogs up on her machine.

copehome 04-21-2013 10:27 AM

I do not adjust the tension, and the feed dogs are down on my Pfaff, but on my low cost Brother, the same way. It is only my opinion, but I think it is all in your rhythm that comes with practice. I had a FMQ teacher tell me that if the tension is correct for straight line quilting, it is correct for FMQ, so, I just learned without any adjusting.

katier825 04-21-2013 10:28 AM