Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Gel Seat Pad for Prolonged Sitting at Sewing Machine? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/gel-seat-pad-prolonged-sitting-sewing-machine-t225896.html)

Krystyna 07-15-2013 04:18 PM

Gel Seat Pad for Prolonged Sitting at Sewing Machine?

We all know it's not good to sit for too long, but I sew for a living and sometimes it is unavoidable. These days I am feeling there is too much pressure on the back of my thighs close to the edge of the chair ... and I guess elsewhere. I use a standard office chair with arms. Wondering if anyone has a good suggestion for gel (or something) pads to eliminate pressure points. I've even thought about looking at hospital supply outlets, but would love to know what YOU use.

mike'sgirl 07-15-2013 04:48 PM

my dh has a seat cushion that has gel in it for his office chair. It has really helped him. I forgot the name of the store I got it at though.It was that fancy one in the mall with all the neat gadets. Sorry can't help more.

Peckish 07-15-2013 04:49 PM

Sounds like maybe your seat is adjusted too high. Can you lower it?

I had a problem once with my tailbone. Medical supply stores have specially cut-out pads for that, but I just bought a piece of upholstery foam and cut a chunk out.

I have a friend who has her machine set up on a high countertop. She stands to sew and says once you get used to it, it's very comfortable.

Phyllis nm 07-15-2013 04:55 PM