Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Got a kit. . . Where do you start? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/got-kit-where-do-you-start-t166828.html)

Rosa 11-07-2011 09:01 AM

Got a kit. . . Where do you start?

Hello!

Okay, I bought this really cute kit from Fat Quarter Shop. It's the Buttons & Bloom and features Red Rooster fabrics.

I'm new to quilting. I've done some but never a bed sized quilt and never one this expensive.

It came in a box. It came in these nice plastic pouches and I got a book with instructions. Now what? I have looked at all the pretty fabrics and have decided maybe I have bitten off to much this soon? I'm just so afraid I'll do something (cut) and it be wrong! Do they give a little extra fabric just in case I mess up?

So, when you start a kit what are the steps you take from the minute it arrives and you have inspected it? :confused:

kittenquilts 11-07-2011 09:04 AM

It's always good to check the pattern and verify that all ingredients that should be with the kit are actually there! When you are ready to start your quilt, read over directions and make sure you understand them all.

Holice 11-07-2011 09:09 AM

read instructions several times and highight important part and then lay out the templates or mark the cutting instuctions to make sure you have sufficient fabri and know which to cut.

Tartan 11-07-2011 09:12 AM