Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Hand Quilting Paper Piecing (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/hand-quilting-paper-piecing-t192404.html)

MommaDorian 06-21-2012 12:40 PM

Hand Quilting Paper Piecing

1 Attachment(s)
I've been getting a lot of advice here about hand quilting. This is my first project. I'm struggling with the pattern I've chosen, stitching 1/4" from the seams. It's just not right. At first I thought it was just me, but I'm thinking I need to try a different stitch pattern. What else is there? Here is a picture of the quilt.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]343707[/ATTACH]

EvelynJ 06-21-2012 12:44 PM

Dorian, dear, your quilt top is awesome! I do not see any problems, I see beauty and love radiating. What exactly are you trying to do?

MommaDorian 06-21-2012 12:50 PM

2 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by EvelynJ (Post 5306456)
Dorian, dear, your quilt top is awesome! I do not see any problems, I see beauty and love radiating. What exactly are you trying to do?

Thank you, Evelyn. You're very kind. I'm trying to hand quilt it. This is my first attempt. So far, I've stitched 1/4" from the seams, but it doesn't look right. The first time, I used black thread. That was bad, so I changed it to off white. I didn't like that either. Here is a picture of both attempts.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]343723[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]343724[/ATTACH]

ckcowl 06-21-2012 12:57 PM