Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Hand Quilting Question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/hand-quilting-question-t75083.html)

sharkee 11-08-2010 09:15 AM

I am new to quilting and have found that I love to hand quilt, it seems very relaxing and it seems to be a lost art. I am had quilting a throw sized log cabin and is all I have left is the borders.
My question is: Is it possible to hand quilt batiks? I seem to always gravitate to that part of the quilt shop when looking at fabrics and when I took a hand quilting class the teacher says you cannot hand quilt batiks but I have read a few places that it is possible the stitches might just be a little bigger.
Thanks in advance for all your responses

Hinterland 11-08-2010 09:21 AM

Originally Posted by sharkee
when I took a hand quilting class the teacher says you cannot hand quilt batiks

I love hand quilting batiks, and they've never given me any trouble. The stitches look so much nicer on them. I think you'll have more trouble with all the seams in a log cabin block than you will with the batiks.

It helps to keep the top loose in the hoop, and I wouldn't put batik on the back, but otherwise, go ahead and use the fabric you like.

sueisallaboutquilts 11-08-2010 09:23 AM

Sharkee, I also love hand quilting. Haven't tried in on batiks yet but probably will. I'm also learning to machine quilt, something I never thought I would do but I became interested. But I'll always hand quilt b/c for me it's very relaxing.

quilt addict 11-08-2010 09:26 AM

I also hand quilt but have not tried batiks. I have heard that it is difficult because of the density of the fabric or how tightly it is woven. But if you want to do it, go ahead. I agree that it couldn't be much harder then all those seams.

kathy 11-08-2010 09:45 AM