Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Hand quilting - what kind of thread? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/hand-quilting-what-kind-thread-t250613.html)

Monale 07-23-2014 02:43 AM

Hand quilting - what kind of thread?

I am a new member of this forum and a self-taught quilter (what would I do without the internet! :p). I was browsing through the forum and it seems that most people are using a sewing machine to piece and quilt their quilts. But I'm sure there are some hand quilters out there, too... What kind of thread do you use? For the quilting, I found Coats Dual Duty Plus Hand Quilting thread and it seems quite nice to me (without having anything else to compare it with...). What do you use to piece? It's probably a waste to use the hand quilting thread for piecing... Can I just use any cheap thread or should it better be good quality?

Tartan 07-23-2014 02:51 AM

I like Guterman's hand quilting thread. I piece by machine using Auifil thread. If I was piecing by hand, I would use a good quality thread so it will last.

117becca 07-23-2014 03:12 AM

YLI 100% GLAZED cotton thread - hands down!!! The importance is to get glazed cotton when hand quilting. It prevents knots.

I am currently hand quilting a quilt for a friend who bought the thread for me and it is always getting knotted up...I HATE IT!!!

I will say that i bought some Thread Heaven that i drag my thread thru which adds a waxy coating on it and that is helping, but it's just an extra step that I don't have when using the YLI.

I do have to order the YLI online because my local quilting stores don't carry it, but I dont care. I found a place that is very quick in turn around and i usually have thread in short time. YLI is also relatively cheap. a 400 yd spool is $4 and a 1000yd spool is $8

Ninnie 07-23-2014 03:16 AM