Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help! Am I using this product wrong? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-am-i-using-product-wrong-t200389.html)

conniemaried 09-13-2012 02:46 PM

Help! Am I using this product wrong?

Being a new quilter, I am still learning how to use all the products out there for quilters, but this one's got me beat. I am doing a kit quilt, and have to cut out 120 3x6 flying geese to fit together accurately in the main body of the quilt. I tried using the recommended ruler to cut them to no avail--I couldn't make them accurate. So I tried the Quilt in a Day Flying Geese ruler, but still couldn't keep the ruler from sliding. OK, so I ordered online some Invisigrip which is supposed to keep the ruler from sliding. It came this afternoon, applied it to my ruler and to my dismay, the ruler is as slick as ever! The invisigrip sticks good to the ruler, and as far as I can tell, can only be applied one way--it doesn't stick on the other side. Slick as ever. Have I wasted money on this product, or am I doing something wrong? At this point I feel it's bad enough to warrant a refund. Any suggestions or comments? Thanks, Connie

ArtsyOne 09-13-2012 02:58 PM

Do you have any rubber cement? A drop on each corner is supposed to make a ruler grip better. What I've done with mine is to use the cabinet door bumpers that come with Ikea cabinets and glued those to my ruler. (Ikea's are really flat, so they don't raise your ruler off the fabric.) I think you can also glue small circles of sandpaper to your ruler.

thimblebug6000 09-13-2012 03:00 PM

This may sound like a weird question, but are you placing the side of the ruler with the invisigrip next to the fabric? I have it on my rulers and they don't usually slip EXCEPT when using the 6 x 24 and then I still have to walk my hand up the ruler as I cut.

QuiltnNan 09-13-2012 03:08 PM