Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help: boring quilt top ideas? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-boring-quilt-top-ideas-t261717.html)

Melyzilla 02-24-2015 08:26 AM

Help: boring quilt top ideas?

1 Attachment(s)
Hi y'all. I've been lurking, but this is my first time posting because I need some help :o.

I have this quilt top that friend found and gave me that I'd like to finish off into a baby quilt. The problem is it just seems boring to me and I'm not quite sure what to do with it without clashing with what's there. It's quite small so I need to put a big border on it. You can see on the right the original light blue border, but I'm not thrilled with it and it's not in great condition. Any ideas how I can spruce up this quilt and give it a more cute, modern feel? I want to give it to a friend who is expecting. In case the picture isn't clear the fabric is blue and pink gingham pattern and there's another row of blocks on the left, it's just draped over something and the picture is sideways.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]511426[/ATTACH]

Basketman 02-24-2015 08:39 AM

Here is something radical...fold the top so the inside corners of the X's touch and move the seams in both directions so you are creating a checkerboard. I have not spent time getting out my drafting paper to see if this is impossible, but off the top of my head it seems doable? Then a bold border with something possibly flowery or childlike and then a binding. If the blocks are off a bit you can likely fudge it enough to make this work and then some baby inspired quilting will hide the rest?

luvstoquilt 02-24-2015 08:41 AM

You could give it a blue and a pink border and the back it with a really sweet nursery print. If you have some checked gingham it makes a nice binding when you use it cut on the bias.

ManiacQuilter2 02-24-2015 10:48 AM