Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help with Hand Quilting Project, Please (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-hand-quilting-project-please-t280496.html)

twinkie 07-17-2016 04:01 AM

Help with Hand Quilting Project, Please

I am trying to hand quilt a small project. I am new to hand quilting. I do quite well (I am told) at embroidery. My stitches (most times) are even and neat.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]554095[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]554096[/ATTACH]

When I try to hand quilt this wall hanging, I can only do one stitch at a time and the stitches on the backing side of the piece are crooked even though they appear straight on top. Don't know how the picture will turn out.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]554097[/ATTACH]
I am using a hoop and the piece is sandwiched securely. Any suggestions?

jjs56 07-17-2016 04:06 AM

You say the hoop is sandwiched securely, but maybe it's too secure. You don't want it drum tight. There has to be some give in order to do the rocking motion to get more than one stitch. Having it too tight would also give you the crooked stitches on the back.

ckcowl 07-17-2016 04:09 AM

For some reason can not open/ see your attachments, but you might have your ( sandwich) held too taut in your hoop. Quilting is not like embroidery . Embroidery you have your fabric held drum tight, quilting you have it held wrinkle free but with slack. Some people will place their sandwich in the hoop then place their fist in the center & push down to give it the right amount of slack.

twinkie 07-17-2016 04:30 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Thank you so much for the wonderful advice. The project I am doing is a postage stamp triple Irish Chain and I had high hopes for it.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]554098[/ATTACH]
Perhaps you can see by this picture and let me know if you think the piece is hooped too taut. Thanks for the information.

joe'smom 07-17-2016 04:51 AM