Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help with machine free motion quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-machine-free-motion-quilting-t24730.html)

SherriB 08-27-2009 07:45 PM

I am fairly new at quilting. I have made a few quilts and have stitched them in the ditch.

I just finished my granddaughter a quilt and did some free motion quilting on it. I did kind of okay on the front, my stitches are FAR from even. My problem was the tension on the back. I dropped the feed dogs and used the darning foot sold to me by the Janome dealer. I tried adjusting the tension a little but it seemed like it made the problem worse.

I have a Janome HT 2008. I tried reading the manual but no luck. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!!

mgshaw 08-27-2009 07:55 PM

I am just learning FMQ too and I had to crank the tension all the way up to 5 and even up to 8 depending on the thread. Just make a practice sandwich and stitch a little bit, check it, adjust, stitch some more, check it, adjust some more if needed etc, etc...... until you find your weet spot :D

amandasgramma 08-27-2009 08:18 PM

mgshaw is correct. That's what I learned in class, too.

SherriB 08-27-2009 08:25 PM

Thank you both! I am going to try cranking up the tension and practice on some scrap quilt sandwiches tomorrow.

Lisa T 08-27-2009 08:32 PM

I attempted my first FMQ-ing yesterday. I had to turn my tension all the way up to 8 to get it to work right.

Roben 08-28-2009 04:37 AM

Another thing to keep in mind is speed when stitching curves. If I go around a curve to fast, I end up with 'eyelashes' on the back, where the bobbin thread is almost straight and the top thread pulls through to the back. It looks like it would be a tension problem, but it's actually a speed problem :?

justwannaquilt 08-28-2009 04:43 AM