Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   help with new sewing machine purchase!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-new-sewing-machine-purchase-t264173.html)

laurafaith55 04-18-2015 12:08 PM

help with new sewing machine purchase!!

hi all -- i haven't posted a lot on these boards…but i certainly do a lot of stalking! :cool:
anyway i have been quilting for about 5 years. i bought a janome machine as my very first machine and it still is up and running just fine…but been thinking about getting a new machine. i went to a local quilt shop to check out their machines -- and i was pretty STICKER SHOCKED! all they sell was baby lock machines and when i told the sales woman that i just do pretty much basic piecing and appliqué (not interested in doing embroidery yet) she suggested one that was $2100. this is just WAY out of my budget…i think i would be ok with around 3-4 hundred. so i guess my questions is …
What is your favorite brand?
What type of machine do u have/love

thanks!

quiltingcandy 04-18-2015 12:23 PM

I would look at Brother machines. A friend of mine has one and my sister has one and they love them. My friend checked out Babylock and Brother - she said some of the machines are the same. But the Babylock costs a few hundred more. I have the Janome 6600 P and love it - but it was well over about $1500 but it came with the table and a few other extras. And I would replace it with another Janome because I love how it works. What one do you have now and why do you feel you need a new one?

ManiacQuilter2 04-18-2015 12:29 PM

For that amount of budget, I don't think you can look at anything besides a Brother. I have a Bernina 1530 that I paid $1,000 for in the mid 90s. I don't need any new gadgets so I am still happy with my purchase.

Sharonquilts 04-18-2015 12:38 PM