Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help please (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-please-t182280.html)

shan70 03-10-2012 07:39 AM

Help please

My Singer Simple is giving me problems. It keeps wrapping thread around the bobbin casing. I've adjusted the tension on the top and bottom. Maybe I'm doing it wrong? I'm a beginning beginner so talk like I'm five please, lol.

Stitchnripper 03-10-2012 07:52 AM

I would try winding a new bobbin, make sure you are using the correct bobbin, make sure you are putting it in the right way. Others will give you more good suggestions. Good luck and keep us posted on what worked!!

hperttula123 03-10-2012 07:54 AM

How long have you had the machine? Could it be dirty inside where the bobbin is? I think trying to wind a now bobbin is a good one to try.

sharon b 03-10-2012 07:57 AM

Sounds like the thread isn't coming off the bobbin correctly - and it is too late now , but I would never adjust the bobbin tension , that one can be very tricky to get back to where it should be :(

Wind a new bobbin , read the manual to make sure you have it coming off it correctly and through all the little nooks and crannies that bobbins have :) rethread the machine . Also when putting in the bobbin - clean the area really well , you never know when a thread has wondered away from sight :) I use Q tips to reach places I can't see

Scissor Queen 03-10-2012 08:03 AM

Originally Posted by shan70 (Post 5047049)
My Singer Simple is giving me problems. It keeps wrapping thread around the bobbin casing. I've adjusted the tension on the top and bottom. Maybe I'm doing it wrong? I'm a beginning beginner so talk like I'm five please, lol.