Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How did you lean to machine quilt using a sewing machine? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-did-you-lean-machine-quilt-using-sewing-machine-t285442.html)

Butterfli19 01-23-2017 02:10 AM

How did you lean to machine quilt using a sewing machine?

It's time I became less hesitant about this so I would like to hear how you learned how to machine quilt. I'm not attempting anything fancy yet, straight line and a few curves. I've done pretty well on small size projects but will be attempting my first machine quilted twin size and I don't want to mess it up too terribly, lol. My biggest fear is the back bunching up and I won't notice until it's too late.

How did you learn? Book? Video? Trial and Error? Needle down and go? I do have the walking foot and free motion foot.

katier825 01-23-2017 02:28 AM

I am mostly self-taught. For years I struggled with little pleats at the back and was amazed at the difference when I finally splurged for a walking foot. It is worth every penny! Free motion quilting is my favorite way to quilt. It takes some practice and I always do a sample to test the tension. I did take a class once in FMQ and it helped me get started. I did a lot of practicing before I was willing to do it on a "real" quilt. Matching threads to the fabrics helps make the mistakes less noticeable. I don't mind using contrasting thread now. Having a level work surface works best with larger quilts. I love my Machingers gloves. I used to use the Supreme Slider, but stopped once I quilted it to the back of a quilt. LOL

popover 01-23-2017 03:22 AM

I've never enjoyed it. Hand quilting is much more relaxing.

Feather3 01-23-2017 03:30 AM

Originally Posted by Butterfli19 (Post 7747388)