Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How do you copy write (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-do-you-copy-write-t55421.html)

karielt 07-20-2010 01:04 PM

Does anyone know howto copy write a pattern. I have several I'd like to get out there and I'm new at this. How do you go about it.

stitchinwitch 07-20-2010 03:17 PM

I will be "listening" - and how do we find a publisher??

BellaBoo 07-20-2010 03:43 PM

Just put copyright material owned by __________ and put the usual do nots on the package. That's all blogger do that design patterns to sell on their blogs. If there is a picture of the pattern anywhere online it can be duplicated in EQ7. This is where the instructions and piecing methods are the key to getting someone to buy a pattern.

Kaye-Kaye 07-20-2010 03:55 PM

I would check with a lawyer who specializes in copyright law. Or at least look on a legal web sight to see what it says.

QKO 07-20-2010 03:56 PM

All you have to do is to claim a copyright on your intellectual property. To do this, put the following notice on each page of your pattern:

Copyright © 2010, [yourcompany or name]. All rights reserved.

You'll want to update your notice each year. The "All rights reserved" part covers all those "do not do this, and do not do that" things that some people are fond of putting all over the place. Those are really just wastes of space unless you feel your audience needs an education about what they can and can't do with your pattern.

Copyright notices and copyrights are only as good as your ability to enforce them, however. If you see your work being copied you can do anything up to and including a lawsuit to try to get justice, but you won't find any law enforcement agency to help you when there is a violation of your copyright.

justwannaquilt 07-20-2010 04:08 PM

Originally Posted by QKO