Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How far in advance of using is it okay to starch your fabrics--days, weeks, months? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-far-advance-using-okay-starch-your-fabrics-days-weeks-months-t226001.html)

AngelinaMaria 07-17-2013 07:20 AM

How far in advance of using is it okay to starch your fabrics--days, weeks, months?

I mixed up a batch of starch before realizing that it has a limited "life" so I need to starch some or all of my fabrics for my next 2 projects (well over 50 to 75 FQ and/or half yards) to not have it go to waste. These fabrics will sit for anywhere from one week to up to possible 4 to 5 weeks before being used.

Is there an ideal limit to how long a fabric should sit starched before it is used? I'm using Sta-flo, is that the kind that you have to be careful of bugs? I'm a newbie to Sta-flo (been using Best Press the past 2 years).

MaryMo 07-17-2013 07:23 AM

This is the reason I like spray starch .... I make my own. I starch as I use the fabric to avoid the problem of bugs and other problems.

charity-crafter 07-17-2013 07:28 AM

I've used Sta-flo for awhile now and haven't noticed it goes bad. Just shake it up some before you use it again. The problem I have is the sprayer gets clogged if I haven't used the starch for a long period (a few months). I put the sprayer in some hot tap water and let the starch melt and it works fine.

So far I haven't had problems with bugs. I get a lot of donated fabrics because I make quilts for charity and sometimes they have an oder that I have to wash out. THen I'll starch and press those pieces before putting them away on the shelf.

mighty 07-17-2013 07:33 AM

I starch as I am using the fabric, but my scraps are starched and I have never had a problem.

Peckish 07-17-2013 07:35 AM