Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How much to buy? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-much-buy-t68202.html)

pester 10-04-2010 06:39 AM

How much do you buy when you add a piece to your "stash". I'm starting with baby sized quilts.

I am new to quilting so don't have a "stash" yet. I am starting a tradition of making a baby quilt for the new babies in the family. Knowing how much fabric to buy for the tops is the hard part for me. If I have a pattern planned I try and figure out how much for each color I need. But I want to keep an eye out for cute boy/girl fabrics. Is there a general "amount" 1/2 yd, 1 yd ect that will be enough for piecing a top of a baby sized quilt. If I find a piece of fabric I like with out having a actual pattern planned out yet?

CoyoteQuilts 10-04-2010 07:02 AM

It always comes down to preference..... but that said, if I really, really like the pattern I will buy what the pocketbook allows. I usually buy in the marked down section of LQS, so that would mean at least 2 yards if not what is left on the bolt. I know if I don't get all that I can then I won't find it if I need more. If it is just a 'nice' piece then I usually buy 1 yard. When the stores have FQ's on sale I will buy them, but usually I don't because sale yardage is cheaper.....

Good luck building your stash! Oh, and when you go to make your quilt with your stash...... you will find you will need to make a trip for another piece to match..... never fails.....

karen65ae 10-04-2010 07:12 AM

If I know I am going to use it for backing a baby quilt I purchase 3 yards as I get 2 quilts out of the 3 yards....and have some left over , that can be used in another quilt

littlehud 10-04-2010 07:16 AM

I make all sizes of quilts so if I like a fabric I'll buy two yards but if I really love the fabric I'll buy all I can and it will appear in a number of my quilts.