Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How Much Do You Buy? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-much-do-you-buy-t216019.html)

starr511 03-10-2013 12:25 PM

How Much Do You Buy?

Since I am new to buying fabric for quilting here is my question. When you run across a fabric sale, and you just have to have some, how do you know how much to buy of each print?:D Especially if you don't have a pattern in mind.

Thanks

linda8450 03-10-2013 12:34 PM

If I find a whole collection of a particular line, I might buy 1/4 or 1/2 yard pieces of all or several, and 1 or 2 yard cuts of something that particularly strikes my fancy for borders or a statement piece. Generally I buy 1-2 yards of just the odd piece I just have to have. For backing, blenders, etc. maybe 4-6 yards. If I don't have a pattern in mind it is sort of iffy. Mostly I just dream something up and do it, not a real pattern kinda gal..but I do make a drawing and try to follow what I started with, but usually it takes on a mind of it's own....a friend will make a suggestion that I didn't see, and off we go in a different direction, and sometimes back to get more fabric!

eparys 03-10-2013 12:46 PM

Many ask that question and there are even more answers (lol) than folks on the board I think.

What I do is, if it is a neutral that I can use as background - I purchase 4 - 6 yds, if it is a really cute novelty I will purchase 1/2 - 1 yard, if it is a color or a Batik that I really like I but 1-2 yards. Bottom line - but as much as you can afford because when you want to use it if you need more than you have - you will probably not be able to repurchase it.

momto5 03-10-2013 12:51 PM