Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How much fabric do you buy? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-much-fabric-do-you-buy-t28260.html)

Lissy 11-06-2009 11:39 AM

This is probably a really dumb question but here goes anyway. When you go into a fabric store and you see fabric that you like but you don't have a specific pattern in mind or one you are working from, how much fabric do you buy?

I keep finding things that I like but I'm new to quilting and I don't always have a pattern in mind or one that I'm working from and I don't know how much to buy. Then I just end up leaving without buying it because I'm afraid I won't get enough or I'll end up with way too much.

What is a good amount to buy?

Thanks!

Elisabrat 11-06-2009 11:43 AM

Depends on if you like quilts with say five patterns to them or ones with mixed patterns but similiar color schemes. When I dont have a project in mind to appease my fabric urge I buy 1/2 yrd pieces or 1 yrd at the most so that I have something I enjoyed and will one day find a use for it. Be more frugal? buy a fat quarter of something.. usually I do mixed fabrics in my quilts so this works. You dont want to end up with 3 yrds of something you might never touch because there is no project that comes to mind. Maybe shop patterns instead? window shopping those in a quilt store is awfully fun too.

SharonC 11-06-2009 11:54 AM

If I'm shopping with no pattern in mind and I see a fabric I like I usually get 1yd, especially if I think I can use in a scrappy quilt, if I really, really love the fabric I get 3yds (I attach a note with place, name and date), if it's a fabric that might look good as backing I usually get 5 yds (again, can cut up for futue scrappy quilt). I tend to not buy FQ b/c of the price.