Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How old is too old.... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-old-too-old-t144860.html)

jeanne307 08-13-2011 08:34 AM

Ok I am a newbie here and this may have come up before, but I have a question about fabric. My grandmother left me all of her quilting supplies, fabric, notions, you name it. While going through the fabric and quilt tops given to me I found several top and blocks that appear to have been made by my great grandmother. She has been gone for about 40 years so i am going to say that these tops and squares are about 60 or more years old. My question now... how old is too old for fabric to be quilted? I don't want to ruin the pieces, tops or blocks so I thought I would see what you talented and gifted ladies have to say. thanks in advance for your help.

loves_2_quilt 08-13-2011 08:35 AM

I would like to know this myself. I have an old quilt top that I don't know if I should quilt or not.

dungeonquilter 08-13-2011 08:36 AM

I have heard of many old tops being quilting to help perserve them, so I don't think any would be too old. However, is the fabric worn or frayed at all? This might have more to do with whether it can be quilted than the actual age.

hazeljane 08-13-2011 08:46 AM

I have a postage stamp quilt pieced by my great grandmother. (Who died in 1910). It is in excellent condition, and as soon as my skills are up to the challenge, I intend to quilt it.

I think it depends on how brittle the fabric has become, and how it was stored. I frequently quilt tops that were pieced in the 30's with no problem at all.

Glassquilt 08-13-2011 09:35 AM

Take it to a LQS and see what they say.

Glassquilt 08-13-2011 09:35 AM

Take it to a LQS and see what they say.

jeanne307 08-13-2011 09:42 AM

Originally Posted by dungeonquilter