Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How should i anchor fabric prior to quilting? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-should-i-anchor-fabric-prior-quilting-t223314.html)

abc123xyz 06-09-2013 07:44 AM

How should i anchor fabric prior to quilting?

I am rather new to quilting. Need more experience in assembling a table runner prior to quilting. What is the best way to anchor all the layers together so one ends up with a smooth finished product? Should I pin or baste or both? What about the basting spray? I have never used it. I hope to stitch in the ditch and wondering if this will work well with a regular foot on my machine. I plan to bind the runner once the quilting is finished. Any tips would be appreciated.

hopflower 06-09-2013 07:52 AM

Being new to quilting myself, this is probably not the best advice, but I just finished my first quilt not long ago: it was a baby quilt, so not too ambitious. But the process is the same. I pinned my layers together and it worked just fine, as I did "stitch in the ditch" and no other fancy quilting work. I had no problems with it on my little machine.

MartiMorga 06-09-2013 08:41 AM

All methods work, so says the experts on the board. The most popular here is the Elmer's Glue method. They have a spray also. You might want to search ALL the posts on this that have been done on this board. Lots and lots of information for you to absorb. Have fun!!!

ckcowl 06-09-2013 08:41 AM