Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Husqvarna Viking Freesia Sewing Feet Questions... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/husqvarna-viking-freesia-sewing-feet-questions-t265352.html)

GarageDragon 05-19-2015 02:30 AM

Husqvarna Viking Freesia Sewing Feet Questions...

(Oh, and this is my very first post - I am new to quilting and have just pieced my very first quilt top! I already feel like I have learned a lot from reading this board, particularly in regards to the lack of quilt police and the 'good enough and finished being worth an awful lot of unfinished perfection' attitude. I struggle with wanting perfection on the first go, even though I know perfection takes an awful lot of practise...)

I've just got an 'open toe stippling foot' in the hopes that I can learn how to use it to sandwich my quilt together. I've tried to have an initial go just using a couple of pieces of fabric, just to get the idea before trying with a quilting sandwich, and eventually on my quilt. The foot seems to sit way too high, it's like trying to stitch with the presser foot up. Is this the way it's meant to be? Even with a quilt sandwich in there, it's going to be hovering above the fabric (apart from when the needle goes in when it presses down) - is this right? Do I just need to get used to it?

The other thing is, the dual feed foot I got as part of the quilting feet package seems to have a fixed foot, rather than the interchangeable one I was expecting. Is this likely to cause me grief later on? The package really wasn't that much cheaper than getting the feet separately - although no-one seems to have the stippling foot on its own at the moment...

Thank you in advance for any tips you are able to offer.

ckcowl 05-19-2015 02:54 AM

Your ( stippling foot) should ( hop) as in, it is above the fabric sandwich while idle, and goes up & down while stitching. So, it is probably right.