Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I am an idiot. Please help! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-am-idiot-please-help-t243043.html)

Porcelina 03-12-2014 09:17 AM

I am an idiot. Please help!

I'm new to quilting. I'm working on my second quilt and I swear to God that I measured 4 times, but guess what I did? Cut my square too short. Is there a product like a tape that I can tape on the extra .5 inch that I need (since I have no extra fabric other than some scrap) or am I s.o.l?

Thanks

Prism99 03-12-2014 09:22 AM

Taping will not work. However, if you have extra fabric, you can sew pieces together to "make" a new piece of fabric that is large enough. If you have a piece that is 1.5" wide and as long as your square, for example, you can sew it on and then cut the resulting piece to the correct measurement. Old-time quilters often had only small scraps to work with and would do this to get a piece of fabric large enough to cut to the size needed.

Doggramma 03-12-2014 09:57 AM

That's what I've had to do....put some scraps (even scraps that are different fabric) together to make another piece. Once you quilt it, you can't really tell where it is

GrammaNan 03-12-2014 09:58 AM

Originally Posted by Prism99 (Post 6622708)
Taping will not work. However, if you have extra fabric, you can sew pieces together to "make" a new piece of fabric that is large enough. If you have a piece that is 1.5" wide and as long as your square, for example, you can sew it on and then cut the resulting piece to the correct measurement. Old-time quilters often had only small scraps to work with and would do this to get a piece of fabric large enough to cut to the size needed.

I have had to do this before and it works. You cannot see it on the completed quilt. Don't get discouraged, just chock it up to a learning experience and move on. :sew:

feline fanatic 03-12-2014 10:03 AM