Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I am new to quilting and I really need help!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-am-new-quilting-i-really-need-help-t27719.html)

cbmesu 10-26-2009 07:08 PM

I just started quilting and already lost my confidence! I need to know the must haves to quilt. And whats the easiest thing i can start with. And also is it really possible to machine quilt because I am being told you have to have a very expansive machine. Please help, I need to find something I enjoy for my downtime and I absolutely love the art of quilts!
Thanks Carrie

ladybugquilter 10-26-2009 07:25 PM

Welcome Carrie!!!

First off do not loss your confidence, this is only a quilt and you CAN do it!!!

Must haves for me are rotary cutter, self healing cutting mat and rulers. There other stuff I like but these are the must for me.

Easiest to start with I am self taught and started with a huge lap quilt, so I guess it is up to you and what you want/like. I know alot here recommend the disappearing nine-patch. I think any pattern with squares should be easy to tackle. If you do a google search for free beginner patterns you should of a good selection.

Machine quilting is just another skill to learn. I have a $99 singer walmart special and I wound not trade it. I have made 6 quilts, wall hangings and many other projects and it does great. I started with stitch in the ditch quilting (stitching along the seams) went ok. I just started free-motion, like everything else it gets better with practice.

So again you can do this. There are so many here that can and will offer help and confidence boost, so pull up your sleeves and jump it. I can't wait to see a picture of your first block :wink:

Prism99 10-26-2009 08:10 PM