Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I can't believe I did this!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-cant-believe-i-did-t176220.html)

MaryStoaks 01-19-2012 12:40 PM

I can't believe I did this!!

This has been the most frustrating quilt I've ever made and it's all my own fault! First I loaded the quilt on my Tin Lizzie frame and quilted most of it before I dicovered that I had loaded the top going the wrong direction so the backing was way short, the batting too. So I took it off the frame and added 10 inches to the backing. I loaded it back on the frame and rolled the quilt to where I left off, only to discover that I should have added at least 14" inches to the backing! It's still too short! Now I have to do it again. I wonder what (or if) I was thinking!!!! Am I the only one who's ever done this? I've been quilting for many years and never done this before, maybe I'm loosing it.

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 01-19-2012 12:53 PM

I feel your pain. I'm famous for sewing a seam wrong, unsewing it, and sewing it wrong the same way again! Some days the brain takes a vacation without your body.

AnnieH 01-19-2012 01:04 PM

Maybe your brain is distracted by sorting out a worry or stress. You're not losing it. You're just human. Good luck with sorting it out.
Annie

mhansen6 01-19-2012 01:04 PM

Step away from the longarm. Take a walk. Have lunch then take a nap. Then go back and look at it with fresh eyes. Believe me you are not the only one who has done this. Sometimes stepping away for a few minutes really helps.

AnotherMadQuilter 01-19-2012 01:07 PM