Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I need your advice about marking a quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-need-your-advice-about-marking-quilt-t67482.html)

marymc 09-29-2010 05:10 PM

I have very little experience with hand quilting and I want to improve. I have put together a simple top using rectangles. I was planning to mark the blocks with a simple leaf design and use this to practice my hand quilting. I am sooo frustrated with trying to mark the stencil. I have tried several marking pencils and they seem so difficult. Either they don't show up or the lead breaks. I have used several colors. Does anyone have any advice on better pencils or method? Thanks!

LindaM 09-29-2010 05:16 PM

One of my favourite methods ... you know the Crayola washable markers? Well, they wash out of fabric too! Yes, I know - heresy!

I have not had any issues at all with the markers damaging the fabric - and the marks do wash right out. I always wash my quilts as a final step anyway.

Use the ones with a nice fine tip. Lots of colours to contrast with whatever is in your fabric.

Learned this from a LQS machine quilting class, well-respected and successful owner and teacher.

stitchingmemories 09-29-2010 08:27 PM

I've had that same problem. Thanks LindaM. Helpfull information.

Pickles 09-29-2010 08:51 PM

Originally Posted by LindaM
One of my favourite methods ... you know the Crayola washable markers? Well, they wash out of fabric too! Yes, I know - heresy!

I have not had any issues at all with the markers damaging the fabric - and the marks do wash right out. I always wash my quilts as a final step anyway.

Use the ones with a nice fine tip. Lots of colours to contrast with whatever is in your fabric.

Learned this from a LQS machine quilting class, well-respected and successful owner and teacher.