Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I searched for an answer, not sure I got one?? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-searched-answer-not-sure-i-got-one-t26110.html)

harrishwhippets 09-27-2009 08:52 AM

I'm a newbie to posting, but not really for finding answers to most of my questions from you all. I did search for this but not sure I got the answer I'm looking for. So here goes!
I bought some fleece from hobby lobby for my grandsons quilt back, now I'm afraid to use it, cause it may pill. Have had a lot of bad luck with about 6 yards of Joann's flannel which is pilling badly and am going to use it for batting at this point.
My question is can I use the fleece for batting? It's chocolate brown, and I have 3 yards. I saw a post that it was hard to quilt when used as batting. Was this by hand or machine? I only machine quilt and I'm going to spend more money and buy anti-pill fleece for his quilt from Hancock, which is now on sale. Any one use this yet? Your help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Esqmommy 09-27-2009 08:54 AM

I've never used fleece for batting, so can't help you! Why don't you try a small sample and see how it comes out?

harrishwhippets 09-27-2009 09:05 AM

Don't know why I didn't think of that, I usually try something first, but I guess I'm just frustrated with this flannel. I have 3 front's done and can't get one finished because of pilled flannel. Thanks! Going to try it now.

STAR 09-27-2009 09:44 AM

I was wanting to do this with some lap quilts, so what is pilling?

joeyoz 09-27-2009 10:12 AM

I would say that machine quilting you should be just fine. I think it is the hand quilting that they had difficulty with. Great idea to use as batting, by the way.

Happy quilting. :D :D :D

Tink's Mom 09-27-2009 10:28 AM