Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I think I have "cold feet" (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-think-i-have-%22cold-feet%22-t113307.html)

CindyinNY 04-03-2011 06:54 PM

I'm fairly new at quilting as some of you may know. I've only made a table runner, set of placemats and a baby rag quilt. I have a few projects that I want to make but keep putting them off.
I think I'm afraid of failing and ruin fabric. Is this a normal newbie thing???

bluteddi 04-03-2011 06:57 PM

yes

stpatmom 04-03-2011 06:59 PM

no way! it pretty much is a forever thing! ha ha ha!!! I always put things off that I think I will not have an easy time with and i've been at it for over ten years! just jump in and start, you'll find your footing and then wonder why you ever put it off. good luck!

broomstix 04-03-2011 07:00 PM

one block at a time. just keep sewing. i still get butterflies when start new project. I have made three quilts this year already. working on another.

Dina 04-03-2011 07:00 PM

Yes, I am just a bit older than a newbie, quilting for about a year and a half, and I always just know I wont like a quilt that I have planned. I am just finishing one this evening, in time for "Show and Tell" at the guild meeting tomorrow night, and I am not sure I will take it. My quilts just always look so different than anyone else's.

But, you know what...I have finally decided that if I fail, so what? I'll just make another quilt...

QuiltingGrannie 04-03-2011 07:00 PM

I've been quilting for 2 years and still get a bit of cold feet when I first approach fabric to cut it into the pieces.
I'd say it's normal. But, don't be afraid of tackling those projects. Remember there are no quilt police, and we all learn from our mistakes which are otherwise known as our creativity!