Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   If I can save just one quilter!!!!!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/if-i-can-save-just-one-quilter-t38514.html)

Justok 03-03-2010 02:07 PM

2 Attachment(s)
I have been quilting for 18 years and I know everything, (right). I am putting together a quilt with hundreds of half square triangles. I've made many thousands of 1/2 squares I can do them in my sleep. After about 100 I got tired and bored of drawing a line, sewing on both sides, cutting apart. Well I have a good eye so I tried a few with just one corner to the next, and It worked, Yea. So I made the rest of them and guess what? When I put them together they don't match. So I wasted, time, fabric and my pride is damaged. So I hope you learn from my bloated ego, and do your 1/2 squares the way you were taught.

1/2 squares not matching
[ATTACH=CONFIG]28269[/ATTACH]

finished block
[ATTACH=CONFIG]28270[/ATTACH]

Rachel 03-03-2010 02:09 PM

oh, the frustration... I'm so sorry. ugh!!!
Love the colors though. Can't wait to see it finished.

Dawn Hendrix 03-03-2010 02:11 PM

Thanks for the reminder to do it the way we were TAIGHT.. verses the way I was going to do them.. just like YOU!

THANK YOU for the reminder!!

MadQuilter 03-03-2010 02:15 PM

This is one of those mistakes you will only make once. (Been there done that - thought to save time.....)

Sorry you have to redo.

Olivia's Grammy 03-03-2010 02:18 PM

Makes you remember why you did it the way you had done it for eons. We all need a reminder now and again. Thanks. Sorry about your quilt.

Esqmommy 03-03-2010 03:04 PM

I must be a major beginner having only been quilting for 13 years or so. But I DO NOT see the problem????

janRN 03-03-2010 03:07 PM