Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I'm new with embroidery quilting, would like advice before I start on my quilt top. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/im-new-embroidery-quilting-would-like-advice-before-i-start-my-quilt-top-t203377.html)

Rhonda Lee 10-16-2012 10:56 AM

I'm new with embroidery quilting, would like advice before I start on my quilt top.

I have a Baby Lock Ellisimo and have pieced and quilted a number of quilts and things on this fine machine. I have used the embroidery part to do a lot of stuff but not quilting. I've pieced a queen size quilt top and would like to utilize the embroidery feature for quilting. I have not sewn the blocks together yet, but they are ready and waiting. I'm somewhat intimidated at this stage of the game at the task ahead of me. I would appreciate any advice you could give me. Thank you.

QuiltnNan 10-16-2012 11:20 AM

as long as you have not sewn the blocks together yet, then quilt as you go should be considered. once you have that entire top together, it has to be well-supported to embroider your quilting. and it still has to 'bunch up' into the harp/arm. i only use mine for quilting small projects. but i'd love to try a a QAYG

cmilton 10-16-2012 11:44 AM

I would quilt each block with the embroidery machine and then connect the blocks.

Rhonda Lee 10-16-2012 01:55 PM

This is why I haven't sewn the blocks together yet, thinking each one could be embroidered separately. The blocks are large, 15 1/2 x 20, 15 1/2 x 15 1/2 and 15 1/2 x 3. 12 are regular patterned pieced blocks, the rest are strips sewn together to form a block, 6 large and 6 smaller blocks.

ckcowl 10-16-2012 02:45 PM

choose a fairly (open) embroidery design- heavy stitch designs will pull up the fabric and really skew the blocks.
i would put together a small (maybe a 12" block) practice sandwich and try it out before commiting to your quilt blocks.