Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I'm thinking of getting a new machine. Any thoughts on these two possibilities? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/im-thinking-getting-new-machine-any-thoughts-these-two-possibilities-t245609.html)

Likethedog 04-22-2014 02:56 PM

I'm thinking of getting a new machine. Any thoughts on these two possibilities?

Hi -- I've been sewing for about 16 months. I have a vintage machine from about 1960, very basic, non-computerized, of course. It doesn't have a walking foot and I can't find one, and it has some tension issues.

I'm thinking of getting a new machine. My budget is tight. Right now a local store has a Singer 4423 heavy duty machine (the gray one) for $120 and I've read good reviews of the Brother CS6000i with 60 built-in stitches which I can find for about $150.

Anyone had experience with either of these models?

I want the machine for quilting and for making bags from duck or home decor fabric, also little things like hemming curtains and making scarves.

Thanks for any comments or advice. Sorry if I've put this in the wrong category.

Kimkankwilt 04-22-2014 02:59 PM

I, actually, prefer my older "vintage" machines. I do most of my piece work on an older Kenmore. You may want to consider just getting the one you have tuned up and serviced.

AngeliaNR 04-22-2014 03:03 PM

I have the Brother and it is a nice little machine. It is really lightweight, so I found myself pushing it across the table when quilting. It works well for garment making, though, and should do scarves, curtains, and bags just fine. Perhaps if it were set into a table so it wouldn't move, it would be okay for quilting, but the harp is quite small.

Terri D. 04-22-2014 03:07 PM