Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   irons--will the teflon bottom get glidier??? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/irons-will-teflon-bottom-get-glidier-t121656.html)

barnbum 05-08-2011 05:17 AM

I iron made the other lights blink madly a few days ago, then last night it crackled and started smoking! :shock: It was a Shark that I've had less than 6 months I think--and the steam button stuck after having it a week. So...off to Wal-Mart to see what I can find.

I bought a Sunbeam Classic...and just used it but the bottom does not glide! The Shark had a stainless bottom I think and this is teflon??? Hate it!! Does it get better or am I returning it tomorrow for the $6 one??? :|

c1bendt 05-08-2011 05:32 AM

My teflon iron is the same way- does not glide. I have been using it for 6 months and it has not gotten any better.

cjomomma 05-08-2011 05:33 AM

I have a Rival with the teflon bottom and I never had a problem with it sticking. It was bought at Walmart.

barnbum 05-08-2011 05:33 AM

Originally Posted by c1bendt
My teflon iron is the same way- does not glide. I have been using it for 6 months and it has not gotten any better.

Thanks--I'll return it tomorrow. Ugh!!

barnbum 05-08-2011 05:34 AM

Originally Posted by cjomomma
I have a Rival with the teflon bottom and I never had a problem with it sticking. It was bought at Walmart.

I saw that one there... but I want to stick to the stainless bottom--loved it on the Shark--didn't love much else about it though. :roll:

cjomomma 05-08-2011 05:37 AM

Originally Posted by barnbum

Originally Posted by cjomomma

I saw that one there... but I want to stick to the stainless bottom--loved it on the Shark--didn't love much else about it though. :roll: