Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Jelly rolls;combining washed/unwashed fabrics (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/jelly-rolls%3Bcombining-washed-unwashed-fabrics-t227083.html)

Somerset Val 08-02-2013 04:14 AM

Jelly rolls;combining washed/unwashed fabrics

Some advice needed, please! I've never used a jelly roll before but have been given two of them (they are both Moda ones). My problem is that I always wash and starch my fabrics before cutting them as I don't like the antique look when shrinkage occurs after washing the finished project (I pre-wash my battings, too). I want to use these jelly rolls as feature fabrics with an added neutral fabric for sashing between blocks. How do I get over the problem of combining washed fabric with unwashed?!

DebraK 08-02-2013 04:25 AM

Enjoy making the quilt, then give it away if it really bothers you that much.

Tashana 08-02-2013 04:25 AM

I was pondering the same question for different reasons. I am making a flannel rag quilt. flannel backing that I found in my stash is washed but the top is a precut layer cake, and obviously not washed. I guess we will just have to deal with the weired shrinking.

Tartan 08-02-2013 04:31 AM

They say not to wash pre-cuts because they can shrink or distort. I have never tested that theory. You could hand wash your pre-cuts and hang them to dry or buy a neutral jelly roll and have it all unwashed and chance a bleed. Maybe someone who uses a lot of jelly rolls will give you more options.

Lee in Richmond 08-02-2013 04:33 AM

If you do wash your backing and batting first, I suspect you will not have a problem with the top made with precut strips. I only get the crinkly look with cotton batting, and if I want everything to stay fluffy and warm (but not heavy) I use thin polyester batt.

alleyoop1 08-02-2013 04:36 AM

Put them in a mess bag and wash them.

alwayslearning 08-02-2013 04:59 AM